Spread the love




Punk icon Fat Mike (NOFX) announced today that Home Street Home, a new punk-rock musical concept album will be released on February 10, 2015 through Fat Wreck Chords in advance of a theatrical production. Home Street Home tells a story of survival and love among runaway teenagers living on the streets, and features music by Fat Mike with lyrics by Fat Mike, Jeff Marx(Tony® Award winner, Avenue Q) and Soma Snakeoil (AVN Award winning writer/director). The theatrical production of Home Street Home will be directed by LA Stage Ovation Award winner Richard Israel.

The studio album features performances by Fat Mike and NOFX, and sees the play\’s characters inhabited by a wide roster of vocalists including Frank Turner, Alkaline Trio\’s Matt Skiba, Tony Award winner Lena Hall (Hedwig and the Angry Inch), Bad Cop/Bad Cop\’sStacey Dee, the late Tony Sly of No Use For A Name, and Dance Hall Crashers\’ Karina Denike. Members of Descendents, Lagwagon,Old Man Markley, Mad Caddies, Me First and the Gimme Gimmes, The Aggrolites, The Living End, The Real McKenzies, and RKL also play on many of the tracks. The Home Street Homeconcept album includes a portion of the songs that will ultimately comprise the full score of the new musical.

Based on true stories of the authors\’ experiences, the story of Home Street Home revolves around Sue, a 16-year old runaway who plunges headfirst into the deviant subculture and alternative lifestyle of the streets. After being adopted into a tribe of homeless teens, Sue finds empowerment and acceptance from her new chosen family.

Fat Mike said, \”Ever since I saw Rocky Horror when I was 8, I\’ve been intrigued by musicals. Well, not all musicals, just the ones that break the mold. Luckily, I found two people, Jeff Marx and Soma Snakeoil, that love breaking things as much as I do. This is fucking fun!\”

Home Street Home Original Studio Recordings tracklisting:

  1. Monsters
  2. Three String Guitar
  3. Urban Campers
  4. Fecal Alcohol Syndrome
  5. Three Against Me
  6. High Achievers
  7. Gutter Tarts
  8. Bad Decision
  9. Missing Child
  10. I\’m Suicide
  11. Let\’s Get Hurt
  12. Safe Words
  13. Another Bad Decision
  14. Seeping Beauty (Reprise)
  15. Bearly Legal
  16. Because I Want To
  17. Life… Oh What a Drag
  18. The Agony of Victory

Michael John Burkett, better known as FAT MIKE, is a musician, songwriter, producer, record label executive and restaurateur. Best known as the lead vocalist, bassist and songwriter for long-running iconic punk rock band NOFX, Fat Mike is also bassist and arranger for supergroup cover band Me First and the Gimme Gimmes. NOFX formed in Los Angeles in 1983, signed to Epitaph Records in 1989 and went on to sell over six million records worldwide. In 1990, Fat Mike cofounded Fat Wreck Chords, a punk rock record label that has released over 300 albums from the likes of Rise Against, No Use for a Name, Lagwagon, Against Me! and many other bands. In 2004, he founded Punkvoter in an effort to mobilize the punk community to vote and in turn raised over a million dollars for the Kerry campaign. NOFX have released 14 proper full-length albums and dozens of 7\”s, EP\’s, and even their own reality series, Backstage Passport, which premiered on FUSE TV. He also enjoys golf, bike riding and taking his daughters to Vegas.

SOMA SNAKEOIL is a writer, director, professional dominatrix, fetish movie star, educator and loving mother. Defining herself as a professional pervert, she prefers to spend her time on BDSM related, sex positive projects. She has lectured widely on the psychology of domination/submission, gender roles and the origins of BDSM. As a fetish model she shot with some of the world\’s finest fetish photographers, performed on stages through out the world, and has been in over 40 fetish films. Taboo Magazine, Inked Magazine and Playboy TV are among many outlets to highlight her ideas on human sexuality. In 2013, she added to her accomplishments, by winning three AVN Awards, including Best BDSM Feature, and the Canadian Feminist Porn Award for her independent silent comedy fetish feature, Rubber Bordello as writer/director/actor. She recently became the Publisher and Editor of DDI Magazine, the 30 year running International FemDomme Directory. Soma spent her late teenage years living on the street, hitchhiking around the country and fine dumpster dining.

JEFF MARX co-created and co-wrote all the songs for the hit Broadway musical AVENUE Q, which won 3 Tony Awards in 2004 (Best Score, Best Book, and Best Musical). He co-wrote songs for the Emmy-nominated musical episode of SCRUBS, the theme song for the TV series RICK & STEVE, and some of the best songs in Broadway\’s THE BOOK OF MORMON. His song \”You Have More Friends Than You Know\” (co-written with Mervyn Warren) was featured on GLEE last year. His journey with AVENUE Q and the Tony Awards is captured in the documentary film \”Show Business: The Road to Broadway.\”

RICHARD ISRAEL has been a part of the Los Angeles theatre community for over 15 years. He is the recipient of the Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Milton Katselas Award for Career Achievement in Directing, as well as the LA Stage Alliance Ovation Award for directing. He has directed for The Laguna Playhouse, La Mirada Theatre, Cabrillo Music Theatre, International City Theatre, Musical Theatre West, The Colony Theatre, The Norris Theatre, DOMA Theatre Company, Musical Theatre Guild, The Third Street Theatre, Interact Theatre Company, The Actors Co-op and West Coast Ensemble Theatre.

For more information, go to www.fatwreck.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: