Spread the love


Stream the Single \”Lifeline\” At Noisey HERE

Relapse is honored to present the first ever fully authorized reissue of Behind The Realms of Madness, the landmark debut from legendary UK band SACRILEGE! Originally released in 1985, Behind The Realms of Madness was one of the first albums of the 80s that both punks and metalheads rallied behind, establishing SACRILEGE as a unique and pivotal player in the 80s\’ extreme metal scene. Propelled by singer Lynda \”Tam\” Simpson\’s ferocious vocals and politically-charged lyrics, Behind The Realms of Madness blended crust, thrash, hardcore, doom and death-metal to create a timeless album that has directly influenced scores of punks and heshers alike.

Noisey has premiered the album\’s first single, \”Lifeline,\” the debut track from the reissue and an old fan favorite, at THIS LOCATION.

Now fully remastered by Brad Boatright (Sleep, Hooded Menace, Obituary) with SEVEN previously unreleased bonus tracks and expanded art and liner notes! Behind The Realms of Madness is available for physical preorder via Relapse HERE and digitally via Bandcamp HERE.

SACRILEGE‘s 1985 debut album Behind The Realms of Madness garnered no small acclaim at the time of its release, but has since been heralded as a classic of the era and as a release that was far ahead of its time; artists like Bolt Thrower and Napalm Death have even cited the album as an enormous influence on their music. The band’s second release Within the Prophecy (1987) pushed SACRILEGE further into the realm of thrash metal, earning the band increased credibility and prestige in metal circles. SACRILEGE later moved towards folk and doom with its 1989 LP Turn Back Trilobite, a record that displayed the band\’s true versatility and which cemented the band\’s reputation for innovation and strong songwriting.

Turn Back Trilobite was the band’s last album, as SACRILEGE’s members quietly dispersed after its release and spent time in other projects (including Benediction, Napalm Death, and Morrissey). The band never officially broke up, though – SACRILEGE prefers to consider its 25-year break a mere extended hiatus. In July 2014, SACRILEGE announced that the band would be getting back into the swing of things and would even be composing a new record, its first in 25 years and a testament to its now 30-year-old legacy. In celebration of the band’s return to activity within the metal sphere, Behind The Realms of Madness is finally being officially unearthed for a wider audience to appreciate, and will be reissued in a deluxe remastered version including seven previously unreleased bonus tracks on both vinyl and CD formats via Relapse Records in November 2015.

Lynda “Tam” Simpson – Vocals
Damian Thompson – Guitar
Frank Healy – Bass
Spike T. Smith – Drums


Behind The Realms of Madness Tracklist:
1. Lifeline
2. Shadow From Mordor
3. At Death\’s Door
4. A Violation of Something Sacred
5. The Closing Irony
6. Out of Sight, Out of Mind
7. The Captive
8. Flight of the Nazgul
9. Sight of the Wise
10. Feed
11. Dig Your Own Grave
12. The Closing Irony (Live)
13. Bloodrun (Live)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: